The weather mercifully stayed dry for us this evening and there was a good sign-on. Whatever the cause this evening, all times were improved upon – some quite dramatically. The route was the Yellow Bridge to Birdhill and return – a distance of 10 mles and when it came to the fastest times – club champion in two disciplines, Benny Delaney took third with Pat Bergin holding second and John Foote finishing in a brilliant time of 23.40. When the time adjustments were made, Mikey Connors, after a ¬†greatly improved ride, took third just behind Benny Delaney in second and the evening’s winner, John O’Carroll.

John O'Carroll on his way to claiming TT4

John O’Carroll on his way to claiming TT4