NTW TT 4 results 26/07/2018

Missing from photo is our winner Andy English and Eoin Woods.

J. Moynan TT Series, round 4

Nail biting stuff waiting for the results of tonight’s TT to be calculated as so many personal bests were set by a number of riders. It just shows that everyone’s training all season is paying off and it’s fantastic to see. The forecast was for a wet evening and Met Eireann got it right, so we unfortunately had to race in the rain and so due to the lack of rain over the past month extra care needed to be taken on the road, we didn’t want any accidents and thankfully everyone came home safely. Unfortunately a few of the lads, Martin who was worst affected, John O’Carroll and Owen were held up with some cattle crossing the road but we have to realise that’s all part of racing and these things sometimes happen. There was a fine tailwind on the outward leg of the course so it was a little tougher on the way back, well obviously for some it wasn’t the case 🙂 I think Andy must have a rocket or something attached to his bike as his fantastic form continues and he has again taken a fantastic win after another massive improvement on his previous best TT time by knocking nearly two and a half minutes off which is just incredible and, we stand to be corrected but, we think it’s the first time that sort of time has been set on a normal road bike in the club…

We had a tie for second place by Selina Hynes and Dermot Kelly. Brilliant ride by them both and well done to Selina who took nearly a minute off her previous best on the course and also to Dermot who is improving continually with his times taking more seconds off his previous best, great going and well done Dermot! Well done to everyone who raced tonight, fair play to you all for coming out to support the race and thanks as usual to Jan who did the timekeeping tonight for us in miserable weather.  That’s dedication for you!

Handicapped results

J. Moynan TT Series results

Also with this win tonight, Andy secured the overall win of the J Moynan TT series for 2018 and takes home the title and the coveted J Moynan TT trophy. Huge congratulations to you Andy!! It was a close fought affair with Luke Donnelly leading the way into tonight’s round and Andy and Eoin Woods tied just behind… However, once Andy dropped his lowest result (He was also the only rider to complete all 4 rounds this year) he leapfrogged Luke to take the win and Eoin joined Luke to tie for second place in the series.

A huge well done to everyone on another great season of time trials and next up to decide is the Road Race series winner for 2018 in the coming few weeks and the cyclist of the year prize. Plenty of time left to compete in this, see below the state of play after 7 rounds with 3 to go. Remember it’s 7 to count for the series so there’ll be plenty of movement in the leaderboard as people drop their worst scores in the coming weeks…

Road Race series after 7 of 10 rounds.