NTW Road Race 2 Result

We had a great night out on the bikes last night for RR2! Weather was fantastic again so it makes it much easier to enjoy… if you can call a race enjoyment!! 😉 We had a great turnout again and made up 3 groups with some shuffling around of handicaps. The first group, was made up of Joey Donnelly, Duncan Hodgins, Selina Hynes, Eva Moynan, Peter Moynan, Martin Quigley and Stuart Witts. It proved quite a tough pace this week with Joey and Duncan putting the rest under pressure from the off and the group started to fragment early with 2 dropped going up Killmastulla for the first time before the turn for the Four Sisters and the other 3 were gone before getting back around to Birdhill. Fair play to the guys(and gals) suffering on to the finish, it’ll just make you stronger so keep at it! Group 2 set off after 5 minutes with the group consisting of Kevin Byrne, Martin Cosgrave(Raparee CC), Owen Hynes, John O’Carroll, Joe O’Connor, Gary Rowan and Nanno Vuyk. All the lads worked very well together in the chase down and kept it going well to the line. The scratch group then started a further 2min 15 secs back consisting of Liam Callaghan, David Kyle and Eoin Woods. Fair play to Joey and Duncan who managed to keep all the chasers at bay and had their own sprint to the line with Joey proving victorious and the lads holding around a 30 sec gap on the rest. Fantastic win Joey, very well done to you and another week on the podium for Duncan so well done to you also. The third place on the podium came down to the main bunch sprint after the scratch group catching group 2 within a kilometer of the line. Martin Cosgrave just pipped David Kyle to the line for the last podium spot with the remainder of the scratch group following closely behind and a small gap the rest of the second group. A special mention for Selina who took part in her first ever road race last night and did herself very proud with a savage average speed considering it turned into an individual time trial for the most part! Very well done and keep up the hard work, it gets easier every week(well maybe not, but you do get faster 😀 )!! Overall it was a great race and fair play to all the lads(and ladies) out, another fantastic evening out on the bikes and plenty of smiles at the finish!! :) Big thanks to Jan for timekeeping, Vic and Tracy for the photographs and Mike O’Keeffe, John Spillane and Conor Hannan for coming out and helping with marshalling the route. Fair play to ye all for coming out to keep us safe!


Full results below:

  1. Joey Donnelly
  2. Duncan Hodgins
  3. Martin Cosgrave(Raparee CC)
  4. David Kyle
  5. Liam Callaghan
  6. Eoin Woods
  7. Nanno Vuyk
  8. Kevin Byrne
  9. John O’Carroll
  10. Gary Rowan
  11. Joe O’Connor
  12. Owen Hynes
  13. Martin Quigley
  14. Peter Moynan
  15. Stuart Witts
  16. Eva Moynan
  17. Selina Hynes

We have some great photos up in an album on the Facebook page here courtesy of Vic and Tracy and the results file will be updated shortly and uploaded to the normal page here.