Club Notes 15th December

Liam Callaghan Cyclist of the year2

Liam Callaghan being presented with the Cyclist of the year trophy from Selina Hynes. Left: Liam in an equally comfortable position.

With gales hampering club training spins, the weekend was dominated by the club annual prize giving and Christmas dinner held at the Thatched Cottage Ballycommon on Saturday night. 

Personal efforts throughout the year by both club racers and the leisure team were celebrated and rewarded with a total of 23 awards reflecting a well attended race calendar.  Whilst a number of names were in the pot, it was the club’s road captain Liam Callaghan (pictured) who picked up club cyclist of the year. This was a well deserved award with Liam picking up points consistently in weekly races over the season taking account of both handicap and flat times. Hot on Liam’s wheel for cyclist of the year were Mikey Connors who had a great season after injury the previous year and the Club chairperson/president Pat Bergin picking up third despite taking first place in a number of races on both flat and handicap times.  Other major trophy winners included Brian O’Neill (Club Championship Road Race), Benny Delaney (Club Championship TT and Hill Climb), Duncan Hodgins (J. Moynan TT Series) and Julie White (Lookout Trophy).  Both the standard and interest in club competition continues to grow and the club was well represented during the year at numerous open races and sportives across the country.

The Club has scheduled a number of route specific training rides for the Christmas period.  Details including dates and routes will be posted on the club website over the coming week.  In the meantime, club training continues on Tuesday and Thursday evenings and on Sunday morning from Moynan’s bike shop at 9am.